Social Determinants of Health Workgroup

Framework for Updated Plan

The plan will be developed through four workgroups. The workgroups are designed to address the unique needs that a child and their family face at different points of time on a mental health and wellness continuum and across systems. Their charge is as follows:

  • Create a series of cross-sector and interagency recommendations for how the State of Illinois can improve mental health and wellbeing for children and their families across the entire state. Each workgroup will incorporate the following themes in their recommendations: 1) diversity, equity, and inclusion 2) trauma 3) development and life course; 4) and needs in the public and private systems.



Social Determinants of Health is tasked with developing recommendations focused on the social, economic, and physical conditions where children and their families live, learn, work, and play and their unique impact on mental health and well-being

Social Determinants of Health Co-Chairs

Andrea Durbin, AM *ICMHP Appointee

Chief Executive Officer
Illinois Collaboration on Youth (ICOY)

Niya Kelly, MA, JD

Director of State Legislative Policy, Equity and Transformation
Chicago Coalition for the Homeless

Social Determinants of Health  Workgroup Members

*ICMHP Appointees

Angela Bolden, BS

LISC Central Illinois

BEcky brasfield

Community Counseling Centers of Chicago (c4)

Colleen Burns, JD

Greater Chicago Food Depository

Inhe Choi

HANA Center

*WEndy cohen, jd

Attorney General’s Office

David Esposito

Supportive Housing Providers Association

*Carol Gall, Ma, Icdvp

Sarah’s Inn

Tanya Gassenheimer, jd

Shriver Center on Poverty Law

David Goins

Alton, IL – City Council

Teresa Haley, MPA

Springfield NAACP; IDOT

Julia Howland

IDPH Office of Women’s Health and Family Services

Nadeen Israel, MSW

AIDS Foundation

*Nneka Jones Tapia, Psyd

Chicago Beyond

Kristen Kennedy

Healthcare and Family Services

Mark Klaisner

Illinois Association of Regional Superintendents of Schools

Mitch Lifson, ma

Non-profit consultant

Helen Margellos-Anast, MPH

Sinai Urban Health Institute

Nancy Mullen, msw

Youth Outlook

Curtis Peace

Illinois AfterSchool Network (IAN)

*Joel Rubin, msw, acsw, cae

NASW Illinois

Anne saw, phd

DePaul University Department of Psychology; Asian American

Susan Scherer, md

Pediatric Psychiatrist, American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry

Tracey Smith, dnp, ms, ph-CNS

Illinois Public Health Association

Audrey Soglin

Illinois Education Association

Lisa Thompson, M.S.

Project Oz

Cynthia Wall


Anita Weinberg, JD, MSW

Loyola University Chicago School of Law

Civitas ChildLaw Center



225 E. Chicago Ave.
Box 153
Chicago, Illinois 60611
| 312-227-8124